Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

Gearing Question

Go down 
+2
rsteiger
sdowiat
6 posters
AuthorMessage
sdowiat

Gearing Question Empty
PostSubject: Gearing Question   Gearing Question EmptyMon Apr 21, 2014 3:36 pm

Mine's an 08 WX, low miles, great shape. I'm currently running the stock gearing although I have bought both a 14 tooth to try on the street and a 12 for the dirt that I'm now afraid to use. Don't need my swingarm chewed up.

Question - I'm new to regearing - If I go to the 14 and try to lower my street crusing RPMs', I know it will make acceleration slower... right? But if as I accelerate, I stay in lower gears longer, won't that compensate to a large degree? Also, will that stock plastic cover still work with a 14?
Back to top Go down
rsteiger

rsteiger

Gearing Question Empty
PostSubject: Re: Gearing Question   Gearing Question EmptyMon Apr 21, 2014 3:44 pm

sdowiat wrote:
Mine's an 08 WX, low miles, great shape.  I'm currently running the stock gearing although I have bought both a 14 tooth to try on the street and a 12 for the dirt that I'm now afraid to use. Don't need my swingarm chewed up.

Question - I'm new to regearing -  If I go to the 14 and try to lower my street crusing RPMs', I know it will make acceleration slower... right?  But if as I accelerate, I stay in lower gears longer, won't that compensate to a large degree?  Also, will that stock plastic cover  still work with a 14?