Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

Share | 

Chain stretched too much! help!

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
BadBowtie03

PostSubject: Chain stretched too much! help!    Tue Apr 29, 2014 7:16 pm

Hey everyone I'm kind of new to this whole thing... I bought my WR about 6 months ago... Not new to mechanics... But new to motorcycles. Anyways, it came with X wheels and tires and R wheels and tires... I could swap em back and forth. But I had had my dirt tires on for about 3 months. Then I just tried to swap back to my street tires. And the axel will come back far enough to hit the end of the swing arm! it wouldn't do this before and I could use the same chain length between the two different sets. Is it normal for a chain to stretch that much? Could I take one link out and be back to normal where I could use it on both sets? Or do I need two chains? they have different rear sprockets as well. Maybe I should get a bigger sprocket for my supermoto tires? Let me know what y'all think the fix is. Thanks!!
Back to top Go down
YZEtc

PostSubject: Re: Chain stretched too much! help!    Tue Apr 29, 2014 8:41 pm

How much chain free play have you been running, how often do you make a chain adjustment, and how many miles on that chain?
Back to top Go down
BadBowtie03

PostSubject: Re: Chain stretched too much! help!    Tue Apr 29, 2014 10:01 pm