Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

Newbie from Canada could use some help

Go down 
+3
BCRider
saddletramp
Fiftygrit
7 posters
AuthorMessage

Newbie from Canada could use some help Empty
PostSubject: Newbie from Canada could use some help   Newbie from Canada could use some help EmptyFri Mar 18, 2016 10:44 pm

I found this forum not too long ago as I was researching on the WR250's.
I started off with a generic dual sport hunt, did my homework and I have landed on the WR250's.
What I am not able to make up my mind is if I want the "R" or the "X".
I come from the cruiser world, I've always wanted to try a dual sport and this year is my chance. I am completely new to the terms "enduro", "supermoto" and so on. I am trying to learn as I dig in more.
I am currently looking at 2 used bikes locally and I cant make up my mind which one to go for.
The 1st bike is a 2010 250R with half the kms as the next one which is a 2008 250X.
When I started my hunt I thought I knew I wanted the "R" but now I am tempted with what the "X" can do and also with the looks.
I am well aware of what both bikes are intended for, is there anything else I need to keep in mind while making the decision?
For instance: I keep thinking a big tire like the one's on the "X" is probably gonna slow me down specially on a 250 engine, maybe the "R" might be a better choice to have as much power as i can get on this engine. And I have lots more that gets into my head to make the decision making process confusing.
Would you guys be kind enough to simplify things and help me make a decision please?