Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

Metal whirring noise

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
Gmfm86

Metal whirring noise Empty
PostSubject: Metal whirring noise   Metal whirring noise EmptyMon Mar 28, 2016 6:00 pm

Hey everyone I'm pretty new to bikes especially fuel injected ones. I picked up an 08 wr250x with 9xxx mi. I noticed at idle there's a metal ghost whirring noise going on around the top end more noticeable on the right side. I didn't know if this is normal or if it is a problem someone else has ran into.

I did change the oil in it and I am unaware if any mods have been done to it yet. Haven't really had a chance to check it out too much.
Back to top Go down
Gmfm86

PostSubject: Re: Metal whirring noise   Metal whirring noise EmptyMon Mar 28, 2016 6:24 pm

I can't post a link to the video since I'm within my 7 day forum restriction. But a simple google search of "wr250x whirring" brings up my video on YouTube.
Back to top Go down
YZEtc

YZEtc

PostSubject: Re: Metal whirring noise   Metal whirring noise EmptyMon Mar 28, 2016 7:58 pm

Remove the skid plate and test again.
Back to top Go down
Gmfm86

PostSubject: Re: Metal whirring noise   Metal whirring noise EmptyMon Mar 28, 2016 8:03 pm

YZEtc wrote:
Remove the skid plate and test again.

Ok next time I make it home(Friday) I'll try. it does have a flatlands skid plate on it. Thanks for the reply
Back to top Go down
Diamond K

Diamond K

PostSubject: Re: Metal whirring noise   Metal whirring noise EmptyMon Mar 28, 2016 9:31 pm