Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

Another new WRR owner

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
dbwentfishin

Another new WRR owner Empty
PostSubject: Another new WRR owner   Another new WRR owner EmptyFri May 06, 2016 1:23 am

So, I started riding street the day I turned 16 I think.  That was in rural PA 1982 on my first bike...a cool lime green/black Honda CB200 street bike.  Wish I still had it.  After that I have had an old Yamaha DT250 enduro, then a Honda CB750, 1978 BMW R100S, and then around 1996 I had a BMW 1100 sport touring bike.  In 98 I had an accident on the bike right after I got married.  As a result, I was left without a bike and with a wife that was opposed to the idea of another bike.  Then came 2 kids and now here I am 18 years since I last rode and for the past year the itch for a bike has resurfaced.  It doesn't help either that I live 5 minutes from Angeles Crest HWY...one of the best roads in the country and also 5 minutes from Pro Italia cycles that deals in Ducati, Moto Guzzi, Triumph, and Aprilia.  For years now I'd salivate when driving by and at times I'd stop by and drool over a Moto Guzzi V7.  Despite my wants, it really wasn't a reality though.  My kids are 2 boys 11 and 13 and I value my time with them and the idea of taking off on weekends to go ride the crest instead of being with my family really wasn't going to happen.  That's when a buddy showed up on a sweet 06 KTM dual sport he bought from a friend at work, which got me thinking about going dual sport and getting dirt bikes for the boys.  What a great idea...gets me on 2 wheels again and it's a way to keep a relationship w the kids and get them off friggin video games.  I HATE video games and the attachment that kids h