Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

Share | 

New to the forums, new WRR lover.

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Wood Dog

PostSubject: New to the forums, new WRR lover.   Thu Aug 18, 2016 7:38 pm

I don't actually have a WRR YET.

I live in PA, 45 minutes from the Chesapeake Bay. I guess I've been sheltered my whole life, because I'm 36 and have only recently gone to the bay. I went to North East, MD to be exact and they have this local park and a free museum that tells you about the history of commercial duck hunting. I have no real experience with boats or duck hunting, but I found it absolutely fascinating. Right next door, there is the Chesapeake Wooden Boat Building School. The place wasn't even open that day, but the name instantly sold me. I want to build wooden boats!!

Only problem? My only mode of transportation is Bicycle A (Surly Crosscheck SS) or Bicycle B (Stolen STS Ratima).

So... Having no car, I realized that I could rent a car, but this is going to be $50-70 a week (one day per week). I'll do it, but what if I could just get an economical commuter that would open up opportunities? So... I start researching motorcycles and find that the WRR is not only an economical commuter, but also the perfect SHTF vehicle. I'm a seasoned hiker/hobo camper/homeless, so the idea of having the freedom to be able to go almost anywhere on road or off is perfect.

I applied for financing for a new 2016 model for $6k. I applied for financing for a used 2008 model for $3800 with only 5k miles. I thought maybe I'd get approved, because I have about a 700 credit score, but unfortunately my credit history is fairly new (I just started rebuilding my credit about 8 months ago).

DENIED.