Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

Strange noise from top end of engine.

Go down 
+4
SheWolf
Bob
YZEtc
Sinfull
8 posters
AuthorMessage
Sinfull

Strange noise from top end of engine. Empty
PostSubject: Strange noise from top end of engine.   Strange noise from top end of engine. EmptySun Dec 05, 2010 9:14 am

Hey all,

I am pretty new to the Yamaha WR250R's well any bike actually.
My issue that I'm concerned with is a ringing\howling type noise the is being emmited from the top end of the engine. It seems to increase with engine RPM and is always there. The bike runs strong still and is not doing anything that seems out of the ordanary.

The mods I have are FMF exhaust system with power programmer and thats it. I have altered the setting on the programmer abit but the noise has been there since I brought the bike about 3 months ago @ the 800km on the clock. Just for reference the bike is an 08 and only done 1700Km. It has been service at 1100km by my local Yamaha dealer and also by myself at 1600Km both times using Yamalube oil. Also where I live the outside abiant temp usually sit around the 30-45 degree C mark.

I'll try take a small video of the bike idling and see if I can capture the noise.

thanks for any advice guys

Mat
Back to top Go down
YZEtc

YZEtc

PostSubject: Re: Strange noise from top end of engine.   Strange noise from top end of engine. EmptySun Dec 05, 2010 10:23 am

Does the bike have an alumnum skid plate?
These make the engine noticably noisier by amplifying normal noise/vibration.

The engine will make some normal noise, even though we're in 2010.
Have you asked any experienced motorcycle gurus that know modern bikes to have a listen?

From Australia?