Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

Total Noob-Wiring cig lighter?

Go down 
+8
antipode
oldirt
SheWolf
Travex
Herkypilot
mwakey
inspector
The Yeti
12 posters
AuthorMessage
The Yeti

The Yeti

Total Noob-Wiring cig lighter? Empty
PostSubject: Total Noob-Wiring cig lighter?   Total Noob-Wiring cig lighter? EmptyFri Jul 24, 2009 12:47 pm

So, where can I tap in to wire up a cig lighter plug? Straight to battery, or is there an accesory wire behind the headlight somewhere?
Back to top Go down
inspector

inspector

PostSubject: Re: Total Noob-Wiring cig lighter?   Total Noob-Wiring cig lighter? EmptyFri Jul 24, 2009 6:43 pm

Haven't looked into this yet, been meaning to. Someone will answere shortly i'm sure.
Back to top Go down
mwakey

mwakey

PostSubject: Re: Total Noob-Wiring cig lighter?   Total Noob-Wiring cig lighter? EmptySat Jul 25, 2009 9:13 am

Here's what I did. First, get yourself one of these...

http://batterytender.com/product_info.php?products_id=39

Wire the ring terminals to the battery and add the proper size fuse to the fuse holder for your power needs. Tuck the fuse holder in under your seat and run the quick disconnect plug up under the fuel tank to the left side shroud area where the AIS is mounted. Leave the quick disconnect plug hanging in this area and secure it with a tie strap. This will make it fairly accessible from under the left shroud without having to remove any body work, and also keep it out of the weather when not in use.