Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

What tools for a multi-day solo ride?

Go down 
+7
oic0
mcdoudlehopper
sturgeon
miniceptor86
gatorfan
BoredAzHell20
on_the_edge
11 posters
AuthorMessage
on_the_edge

tools - What tools for a multi-day solo ride? Empty
PostSubject: What tools for a multi-day solo ride?   tools - What tools for a multi-day solo ride? EmptyTue Feb 05, 2013 10:42 pm

I am very new to the mechanical aspects of WR250 repair. I have only had my 2011 for a few months and it has needed no repairs nor have I mechanically modified it. With spring approaching, I am considering a small trip of maybe 5 days that will be mostly off road and away from civilization. My question is this: what tools or items would you take in order to feel assured that you could fix almost anything that might go wrong if you were a bit far from someone who could help? Of course, a cell phone is a no-brainer, but I am more interested in fixing the issue myself rather than getting help to me miles off the beaten path.

Please be specific with your recommendations (tool sizes, etc.).
Back to top Go down
BoredAzHell20

PostSubject: Re: What tools for a multi-day solo ride?   tools - What tools for a multi-day solo ride? EmptyWed Feb 06, 2013 1:29 am

My number 1 concern when riding is getting a flat.

You will need two tire spoons
Bead buddy is helpful
Baby powder
CO2 air cartridge and inflater
A portable bike lift. Something that can hold the front tire or rear tire off the ground while you change your tire.
a set of tubes for front and rear tire

Practice changing your tire with the only the tools you will be carrying. no fancy bike stands or tools you will not normally carry due to weight (large breaker bars, etc...)