Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

Installing Cycra handguards on stock bar

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
NH_2012WRR_Rider

NH_2012WRR_Rider

Installing Cycra handguards on stock bar Empty
PostSubject: Installing Cycra handguards on stock bar   Installing Cycra handguards on stock bar EmptySun Dec 08, 2013 6:32 pm

First I should say that I have little experience working on bikes.  This post describes my experience installing the Cycra handguards.  After reading what the web has to offer, I make a judgement call of when I think I know enough and dive in.  As I work i find Many areas for which I wish there was more details and have questions about.  I put the questions below.  I put a section of things I wished I would have done differently after that, so readers can know up front what areas to look out for.

All these pictures were taken with my iPhone 5s. They are crazy good. I rarely break out my SLR anymore.

-----QUESTIONS-----------
Questions I have at this point in the install have to deal with the fit of the guard.  This is going to be the hard part in my mind.  The mounting of the side mount and the prep of the bar end were trivial.  Questions:
1) When the handguard is in its final installed position what should be the goal relative to the alignment of the handguard bar and the clutch and brake levers.  Should the clutch and brake levers be offset above the handguard bar or directly behind it? I see pictures of the front of bikes with handguards installed.  Does anyone have pictures of the area in question.
Here is a picture illustrating the current fit prior to bending.
Installing Cycra handguards on stock bar Image50
Installing Cycra handguards on stock bar Image51