Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

new guy

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
dogmeat

new guy Empty
PostSubject: new guy   new guy EmptyMon Feb 27, 2023 3:41 pm

Hi all!! I just bought an '08 with 4600 miles on it (it's an R). A friend bought one back when they first came out. We did a few rides together including a D2D run (1000+ miles) and I was impressed by it. We switched bikes a few times so I got a chance to check it out. Anyway, I'm no stranger to bikes.... been riding 50+ years and have owned many. My profession is aircraft mechanic and I have always done (most) of the work on my vehicles. I have machinist and fabricator skills as well. I haven't ridden this one yet because we have 4 feet of snow on the ground (Alaska).

Anyway, my questions for the moment:

the bike has been lowered and I did not get the original links with it. I think I will try it as is but I have experienced other bikes like the KLR when lowered and found that it really messes with the way the bike handles.... your thoughts?

there are no "bark busters"... I want some and I know that some brands work better on some bikes, and some are tough to fit on others... suggestions for what works...

I heard there is a stator recall... I will investigate this

any other things to look out for on the 2008?

thanks, Tom in AK
Back to top Go down
johnkol

new guy Empty
PostSubject: Re: new guy   new guy EmptyTue Feb 28, 2023 4:54 pm

dogmeat wrote:
the bike has been lowered and I did not get the original links with it. I think I will try it as is but I have experienced other bikes like the KLR when lowered and found that it really messes with the way the bike handles.... your thoughts?

Factory link is available at Service Honda.