Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

2008 R with possible engine problem (blowby?)

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
RC_guy

2008 R with possible engine problem (blowby?) Empty
PostSubject: 2008 R with possible engine problem (blowby?)   2008 R with possible engine problem (blowby?) EmptyWed Jul 02, 2014 7:37 pm

Hi guys,
I am a total newbie to these bikes but I always like to tinker with my stuff...Maybe I should have phrased that differently?
Anyway, I just bought an 08 WR250R with 7000 miles on it.  I noticed a few things with it and I am not sure they are related or not?
It is completely stock.

1- The exhaust smells as it is running rich
2- The idle is a little rough
3- The oil smells like gas even after an oil and filter change.  I also flushed and idled for 1 minute with 1 more liter of fresh oil
4- It almost seems like it has a V-Tech engine.  It seems like its starving below say 5000 rpm then it wakes up
5- The oil has a nice color (not dark) but when I 1st changed it, it seemed a milky color
6- No smoke comes out of the exhaust

Could I be getting some blowby from scratches on the cylinder or something like that?

Thanks in advance.
Back to top Go down
4play

4play

PostSubject: Re: 2008 R with possible engine problem (blowby?)   2008 R with possible engine problem (blowby?) EmptyWed Jul 02, 2014 7:59 pm

Unless somebody neglected the air filter, I doubt you have a blow bye issue, 7k on these is just good & broken in.

I'd start with a fresh air filter & sparkplug & if that doesn't make it better, you may have a sensor out of whack.
These do not have much low end power, you do have to rev it.

The ONLY way to know for certain is to perform a leak down check.
Back to top Go down
RC_guy