Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

FMF PowerBomb and MegaBomb effect on exhaust noise level...

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
David Haynes

David Haynes

FMF PowerBomb and MegaBomb effect on exhaust noise level... Empty
PostSubject: FMF PowerBomb and MegaBomb effect on exhaust noise level...   FMF PowerBomb and MegaBomb effect on exhaust noise level... EmptyFri Feb 26, 2016 10:55 am

I've been running a FMF silencer on my 2010 WR-R for about 5 years and 20k+ miles. When I added the pipe I did not install a SS header (Megabomb/Powerbomb) because I was quite happy with the performance of the pipe alone.

However, I've read recently that adding either of these FMF headers can subtract some decibels from the exhaust's considerable bark, so I'm asking here just how much of a difference there is.

I'd appreciate comments from those who've run just the silencer (pipe) and have run a silencer plus either the PowerBomb or MegaBomb headers.

Again, my main interest is in quieting down the bike's considerable loudness. I use the WR-R as a true DS bike and often ride 200+ road miles in a day to ride 50-75 dirt miles. I also recently began using a Sena bike-to-bike intercom and the exhaust noise makes it hard to hear, especially at highway speeds.

If these headers only make a slight difference in the overall decibel level I probably wouldn't be interested.

Thanks Guys (and Gals)!
Back to top Go down
duanew

PostSubject: Re: FMF PowerBomb and MegaBomb effect on exhaust noise level...   FMF PowerBomb and MegaBomb effect on exhaust noise level... EmptyFri Feb 26, 2016 11:41 am

Hey David.

I haven't heard from you in a while or maybe you haven't heard from me in a while.