Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

Is the WR the right bike?

Go down 
+2
WRoldman
10R
6 posters
AuthorMessage
10R

10R

Is the WR the right bike? Empty
PostSubject: Is the WR the right bike?   Is the WR the right bike? EmptyThu Mar 11, 2010 9:55 am

Howdy! Just joined to find out more about the WR. I started riding in 1972 on a Yamaha YC1....I think it went 50 mph downhill with a strong wind at my back. I have had several sportbikes which I ride at the track and on the backroads. I bought a KLR650 which I have toured with in the US and South America. The KLR650 community introduced me to dual sport rides and they were a blast. I want to do more off road....but the KLR is so heavy. I have been a Kawi man at heart but I can't bring myself to buy the KLX250S; and the KLX450R cannot be converted to a street-able version where I live. So... I have been thinking about the WR250R or a KTM EXC or Husky. Want to make sure I do my homework before I buy. Hope to learn a lot here!
Back to top Go down
WRoldman

WRoldman

PostSubject: Re: Is the WR the right bike?   Is the WR the right bike? EmptyThu Mar 11, 2010 11:08 am

Welcome. Seen ya on WSB. What put me on the WR was the streetbike maintenance intervals (like working on bikes, I just like riding them more) & the price (found it used last Summer for $4100 w/1k on the odo). Surprised by how much I like it. This bike has stolen a lot of seat time from the R1. No doubt the KTM & Husky are nice though.
Back to top Go down
SheWolf
Alpha Rider
SheWolf

PostSubject: Re: Is the WR the right bike?   Is the WR the right bike? EmptyThu Mar 11, 2010 11:58 am