Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

rear tire alignment

Go down 
+2
inspector
mwagman
6 posters
AuthorMessage
mwagman

rear tire alignment Empty
PostSubject: rear tire alignment   rear tire alignment EmptyThu Apr 22, 2010 2:12 pm

I just mounted a michelin t63 rear tire, im new at this so bare with me.
It seems pretty strait but when i run it slowly on the stand it seems to move side to side a little.
What is the correct way to align the rear tire?
when a shop near by out the tire on the rim they added some wheel weights seems pointless if its not done while on my bike.
Back to top Go down
inspector

inspector

PostSubject: Re: rear tire alignment   rear tire alignment EmptyThu Apr 22, 2010 2:17 pm

You don't align a tire, you align a rim. The weights are to balance a tire and rim together. That you do off the bike. To align a rim you usually do off the bike, but have seen people do it with success still on.

You should probably figure out whether the rim runs straight as you turn it, not the tire?
Back to top Go down
yellowredlight

PostSubject: Re: rear tire alignment   rear tire alignment EmptyThu Apr 22, 2010 3:35 pm

im not getting how the tire would move side to side without the rim being bent.

silly question, but the tire is inflated right?

when you put the wheel back on and line up the hash marks on each side of the swing arm, take it for a rip and see how it feels.
Back to top Go down
andy mac

PostSubject: Re: rear tire alignment   rear tire alignment EmptyThu Apr 22, 2010 4:37 pm