Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

WR250R no spark

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
Afterburner4

WR250R no spark Empty
PostSubject: WR250R no spark   WR250R no spark EmptyThu Apr 07, 2011 10:06 am

Hi to all Gurus,

I am a newbie here and I need your advice.

I just bought a complete WR250R engine together with its wiring harness, ecu, etc from ebay.

I transplanted WR250R engine into my old WR200 DT with modification to the frame to cater for the bigger engine.

After I wired it up, I push the start button and I can hear the starter moving but engine did not fire up. After many trys, I remove the coil to check for spark and noticed that there is no spark at all from the spark plug.

This may sound ridiculous, could it be that I did not have the digital meter (speedo) installed that is why the bike could not start?

Please help as I am running out of idea why I did not get any spark.

The only thing that did not come with engine is the digital meter and the ignition switch and key. Or is the key chipped? Or did I bought a sour lemon from ebay?

Thank you in advance.
Back to top Go down
Hertz

Hertz

WR250R no spark Empty
PostSubject: Re: WR250R no spark   WR250R no spark EmptyThu Apr 07, 2011 10:40 am

I'm fairly certain you need the meter for the engine to run.

The key is not chipped and you shouldn't need the main (key) switch.
Back to top Go down
Afterburner4

WR250R no spark Empty
PostSubject: Re: WR250R no spark   WR250R no spark EmptyThu Apr 07, 2011 12:29 pm

Thanks Hertz for your advice.

Anyone have a extra meter to sell?
Back to top Go down
motokid
motokid

WR250R no spark Empty
PostSubject: Re: WR250R no spark   WR250R no spark EmptyThu Apr 07, 2011 12:30 pm