Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

Engine noise info please

Go down 
+2
Jäger
Spun220
6 posters
AuthorMessage
Spun220

Engine noise info please Empty
PostSubject: Engine noise info please   Engine noise info please EmptyTue Jul 26, 2011 12:26 am

Hi i have a 2011 wrr. I am new to motorcycles and have a question. Hope someone can help me out. In neutral or with the clutch held the engine sounds fine at any rpm. but while im riding at any speed i can hear lots of noise. (engine, gears, clutch, chain? I dont know how to diagnose the noise) Its not from the exaust. The bike is 100% stock and about 2000km. Bike runs great. Just this possible engine noise has me a bit worried. Is this normal for this bike? Should i be worried? Any input could help. Thanks .
Back to top Go down
Jäger
Admin
Jäger

PostSubject: Re: Engine noise info please   Engine noise info please EmptyTue Jul 26, 2011 2:53 am

I don't know what to tell you. They are not smooth little four bangers like a multi cylinder job - they're a thumper, complete with knobbies, etc.

But a 2011 with 2000km is covered under the warranty. Go back to the dealership and be honest and say you don't have anything to compare it to but the noise sounds more than it should. Maybe they have a second one they'll let you take for a short spin for comparison. More likely one of the shop guys will take it for a short run and come back and say all okay. But the concern and response will at least be documented should something go sour later on, I think.

I don't recall anyone on any of the WRR sites reporting an engine failure, particularly on a new bike. So you have both the warranty and statistical probability working on your side.
Back to top Go down
greer