Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

Suspension settings recommendation

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
Krion

Suspension settings recommendation Empty
PostSubject: Suspension settings recommendation   Suspension settings recommendation EmptySat Jan 14, 2017 1:36 pm

I recently picked up a WR250R for enduro and trail riding. I'm new to the whole dirt bike thing.

Can someone please recommend me what settings to use on the forks and shock? I weigh 155 without gear.

Thanks!
Back to top Go down
wwguy

wwguy

PostSubject: Re: Suspension settings recommendation   Suspension settings recommendation EmptySat Jan 14, 2017 2:13 pm

At 200 lbs. wet I'm a bit heavier than you, so my experience might not be the same as yours, but here's my take on the stock suspension.

Regarding the shock:  The factory midpoint compression damping setting (10 clicks out from closed) worked great for me.  The stock shock's main problem is insufficient rebound damping, which can create a pogo stick effect in some riding conditions.  I found some relief on mine by increasing the rebound damping to maximum (3 clicks out from fully closed.)  While noticeably better it still wasn't enough for me and I eventually rebuilt the shock with a heavier spring and Race Tech Gold Valves.