Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

New WRR rider from Southern California

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
Falcontech

New WRR rider from Southern California Empty
PostSubject: New WRR rider from Southern California   New WRR rider from Southern California EmptySun Oct 02, 2011 7:21 pm

Hello All:

I picked up my WRR yesterday from a local dealer. I intend to use it for primary transportation and trail riding around Big Bear Lake, CA, weather permitting. I have been riding on and off road for approximately 42 years. I have mostly owned either street bikes or dirt bikes. My only dual sport bike was a 1992 Honda XL250 which was extremely disappointing after owning a CanAm 250 MX6 modified for desert use. The Honda was heavy and underpowered; the street legal dual purpose tires of that time were worthless in the dirt.

I am hoping that the WRR will be a lot better than the Honda, given that the Yamaha is twenty years more advanced. My only concern, so far, was the height of the bike. I have a 29 inch inseam, and it was almost impossible for me to sit on the bike in the showroom. I bought it with the promise from the dealer that he would lower it as much as possible. When I picked up the bike, it was noticeably lower, about an inch and a half. This made it possible for me to get aboard and ride it, but I am still higher than I feel comfortable with. I plan on modifying the seat to gain another inch of clearance.

My previous bike was an 09 Concours 14, which I commuted to work on for two years.
Back to top Go down
Falcontech

PostSubject: Re: New WRR rider from Southern California   New WRR rider from Southern California EmptySun Oct 02, 2011 10:43 pm

Falcontech wrote:
Hello All: