Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

NEED HELP TO GET GEARING & CHAIN RIGHT!!

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
StreetNewbie

NEED HELP TO GET GEARING & CHAIN RIGHT!! Empty
PostSubject: NEED HELP TO GET GEARING & CHAIN RIGHT!!   NEED HELP TO GET GEARING & CHAIN RIGHT!! EmptySun Dec 02, 2012 11:56 am

I have been riding dirt on and off for many years but just purchased a 2012 WR250R to serve both purposes but mainly street. I have 17" supermoto wheels and tires in the mail and want to get my gearing right before they arive. I want to be able to ride at 75mph without reving super high. 75mph with the stock R 18"/21" wheel setup revs higher than I like and I believe that the 17" wheel will make the bike rev even higher. I have never raced and dont plan to so I have always just ridden bikes with factory sprocket setups and do not know anything about selecting proper sprockets and a matching chain.

If I go up 1 tooth on the front sprocket will it make much difference and will the stock chain still fit? Should I add a tooth to the front and go a little smaller on the back? How do I know what chain to match up with what I choose? I dont race, I do not want to ride wheelies all over the place, I just want a fun machine that I can ride safely on the highway (70-75mph) without burning the motor up. I want this bike to last a long time.

Any suggestions are appreciated.
Back to top Go down
bigg

bigg

PostSubject: Re: NEED HELP TO GET GEARING & CHAIN RIGHT!!   NEED HELP TO GET GEARING & CHAIN RIGHT!! EmptySun Dec 02, 2012 12:24 pm