Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

synthetic or conventional oil for 3k miles...NOob

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
motardmixion

motardmixion

synthetic or conventional oil for 3k miles...NOob Empty
PostSubject: synthetic or conventional oil for 3k miles...NOob   synthetic or conventional oil for 3k miles...NOob EmptySat Mar 02, 2013 2:49 am

as you know im a noob to this bike, I had two cbr 600rr's before this bike, i always used bel-ray synthetic oil, Im gonna go with that or just the regular yamalube 4 10/40

I just wanted to ask what you guys think about running synthetic....idk whats in the bike right now because i just bought it....olny has 3400 miles on the bike.

So i guess what im getting at is, should i just run a synthetic oil or just go with reg conventional????
I know theres a billion on billion debates on what engine oil is best....yada yada yada...

just seeing if you really think its a big deal to run synthetic.

im a firm believer with just picking a oil and sticking with it. not changing brands and viscosity all the time.

just give me some of your quick input.

thanks

Evan
Back to top Go down
YZEtc

YZEtc

PostSubject: Re: synthetic or conventional oil for 3k miles...NOob   synthetic or conventional oil for 3k miles...NOob EmptySat Mar 02, 2013 6:16 am

I feel much as yourself:

The bike in no way demands synthetic oil.
It doesn't require the most expensive oils.
What is does require is a periodic oil change, no matter which oil you choose.
I typically go with conventional oils like Yamalube 10/40, Honda GN4 10/40, or Suzuki 10/40.

I basically don't believe in synthetic vs. non-synthetic, but how often the oil is changed.