Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

Leaking fork

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
boomtard135

Leaking fork Empty
PostSubject: Leaking fork   Leaking fork EmptySun Apr 14, 2013 11:07 am

Hey guys I am fairly new to riding, started back in the late fall. I have put about 2K miles on my 250X over the winter. I am getting more and more knowledgeable with my bike. I do have one question.

I was trail riding last weekend in some pretty rough stuff, rocks, mud, loose bricks. When we were done riding, I noticed a small leak coming from my fork. I stayed off the bike pretty much all week. On saturday I looked on how to clean the seal, take a business card and go up in there and clean under the seal. Well, that didnt work, still leaking. GAHHHH

So my question is, if its a small(isn) leak, would i do more damage by riding it around town, not trail riding where the forks get compressed a lot! I am taking it into the shop on thursday to get the fork seals replaced, but the weather is so nice i want to be out tearing up the town.

Thanks for the input.

VR

Braxton135 beavis
Back to top Go down
Biglake

Leaking fork Empty
PostSubject: Re: Leaking fork   Leaking fork EmptySun Apr 14, 2013 11:58 am

Your not going to hurt the fork by riding a few times with a leaky seal.
If its the left fork thats leaking and the fork oil gets on your front brake you wont have any front brakes tho.
Back to top Go down
japako

japako

Leaking fork Empty
PostSubject: Re: Leaking fork   Leaking fork EmptySun Apr 14, 2013 12:45 pm

A business card is not the best thing to use for cleaning the seals. I use this..
http://tinyurl.com/ckzfcgz
You can make one from old 35mm film that will work also.