Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

Looking for comprehensive parts list

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
critt

Looking for comprehensive parts list Empty
PostSubject: Looking for comprehensive parts list   Looking for comprehensive parts list EmptyThu Jul 07, 2016 8:55 pm

Hello all,

I'm hoping that somebody can help me find a comprehensive parts list for a fork and shock rebuild. I generally know the major parts that I need, but I have never done the work before so I don't know the finer details. Exactly which parts are "wear" parts and which will be fine to reinstall?

Thanks,

James
Back to top Go down
wwguy

wwguy

PostSubject: Re: Looking for comprehensive parts list   Looking for comprehensive parts list EmptyFri Jul 08, 2016 12:32 pm

I'm pretty sure the only "wear" parts are the seals and oil, both of which should be replaced with a rebuild or upgrade.  I had my suspension rebuilt by a local Race Tech shop last winter and just checked the invoice for the list of materials:

Rear Shock:
- Valves (Race Tech sells theirs as a kit with 1 part number.)
- Seal head
- Shock fluid
- Shock spring (optional, but recommended for 185+ lb riders.)
- Shock spring collars x2 (required to fit the slightly shorter aftermarket spring to the stock shock assembly.)

Front Forks:
- Compression valves
- Rebound valves (Note: Unlike the rear shock, Race Tech sells fork rebound and compression valve kits separately.)
- Fork seals (I prefer SKF brand.)
- 5 weight fork fluid.
- Fork springs (optional if you find the stock spring to be soft.)