Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

Temp warning light comes on at stoplights

Go down 
+2
YZEtc
dougfromindy
6 posters
AuthorMessage
dougfromindy

Temp warning light comes on at stoplights Empty
PostSubject: Temp warning light comes on at stoplights   Temp warning light comes on at stoplights EmptyThu Aug 01, 2013 9:59 pm

Hello,  noob here....sorry if noob question.
I just bought a 2009 wr250x today , 1150 miles.
Did a test run of 100 miles.  
The red temp warning light is coming on when waiting for long red lights....
when you get moving it goes off.
It never comes on when riding just at idle after about 90 seconds.
Is this normal?  Should I be concerned?
What temp does light come on at?
Any fan mods that help out?
thanks,  Doug
Back to top Go down
YZEtc

YZEtc

PostSubject: Re: Temp warning light comes on at stoplights   Temp warning light comes on at stoplights EmptyFri Aug 02, 2013 5:03 am

When you are at a long stop with the engine running, the light comes on.
When you get moving and have air passing through the radiator, the light goes out.

Does the radiator fan come on and spin at all?
Back to top Go down
motokid
motokid

PostSubject: Re: Temp warning light comes on at stoplights   Temp warning light comes on at stoplights EmptyFri Aug 02, 2013 5:25 am

If you live in a place like Phoenix it might be normal in August. (Where do you live?)

My bike does not do that, and I live in stop light hell.

You might want to check, or just change the radiator fluid and make sure you have the proper ratio of antifreeze to water.

Knowing if your fan is running or not before that light comes on, or even after that light comes on is important.
Do you know?