Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

Interchange (fork swap)

Go down 
+3
Biglake
wwguy
Two times
7 posters
AuthorMessage
Two times

Two times

Interchange (fork swap) Empty
PostSubject: Interchange (fork swap)   Interchange (fork swap) EmptySun Jun 12, 2016 9:48 am

**I'm sorry if this is a silly question. I'm a newbie so please bear with me.**

I am looking for an interchange "plug and play" solution for my wr250r front suspension.

Is it possible to swap the forks of a wr250r and other new dirt-bikes (with better stock suspension)?

lets say that I find a new yz-f or crf or whatever mx forks with approx the same over-all length (I know that mx forks comes with bigger wheel axle diameter... for the sake of argument let's say that i also have a matching yz-f front wheel in my possession).

Can i fit a mx forks such as this on my wr250r triple tree clamp?

I know that the fork inner tube diameter of the wrr is 46mm, and that new mx yz-f/ kx-f etc forks inner tube diameter is 48mm.
but is there such a big difference in outer tube diameter? can't I improvise/ adjust/ fit it somehow?
i mean if you take a look at the wrr triple tree clamps: the forks are not 100% infolded anyway... the clamps are not tightened over the forks. there is a small gap. and we are talking about millimeters here...

Alternatively, can I make a swap between a stock (or even adjustable aftermarket) yz-f triple tree clamp and a wrr triple tree clamp?

(of course i am not asking moneywise. only from a technical point of view: can it be done?)
Back to top Go down
wwguy

wwguy

PostSubject: Re: Interchange (fork swap)   Interchange (fork swap) EmptySun Jun 12, 2016 11:07 am