Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

Getting an X/Question about Break-In.

Go down 
+3
ZED
skierd
cannon
7 posters
AuthorMessage
cannon

cannon

Getting an X/Question about Break-In. Empty
PostSubject: Getting an X/Question about Break-In.   Getting an X/Question about Break-In. EmptyFri Sep 10, 2010 1:07 am

Hello All!

After an exhaustive deliberation between it and the DRZ400sm, I have just put a down-payment on a spankin new 2008 WR250X! deal

This will be my first dual sport motorcycle, however I have been riding off an on since 1989 on street bikes. My last was a Honda 599. Great bike, but I felt it was time for something with a little more versatility and a little less top end.

While I am going to use the X primarily for commuting at first, I am psyched at the opportunity to put dirt wheels on it and hit trails for the first time on a motorcycle! I love back country mountain biking. I am sure it is apples and oranges compared to riding a trail on a motorcycle, but I would like to think that a couple of skills will transfer over.

One question right off the bat: I am purchasing the WRX new from a dealer 300mi away from home. I would like to ride the bike home, but am concerned about how this will effect my break in.

I can take backroads and keep the speed in check. I would like to do an early oil change at 150 or so, to be on the super safe side. (I have read about first changes sometimes having a high metal content in the oil) I don't want to risk the investment, so it is just better for my peace of mind to change it.