Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

East Texas 450... Failed 1st Attempt

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
Arkmage

East Texas 450... Failed 1st Attempt Empty
PostSubject: East Texas 450... Failed 1st Attempt   East Texas 450... Failed 1st Attempt EmptyMon Jul 04, 2011 4:58 pm

I'll start this off by saying:

1) I've never owned a dirt bike before and although I rode occasionally growing up I never did it often enough to get any good at it

2) This is my first dualsport trip

3) This is my first time riding this bike loaded

Alright, so I figured I'd use the long holiday weekend to do the east texas 450 (http://www.dualsportevents.com/eastex-450.html). Sadly I didn't finish, but we'll get to that in a bit. The track provided by Dual Sport Events was fantastic and although I missed a few turns, was easy to keep up with.

I got a late start on Saturday afternoon. I went to help a friend fix his car, got lunch, went grocery shopping for the trip, and picked up a slime pump. Didn't get packed and get on the road till nearly 3:30pm.

The plan for day one was to make it to Double Hearts RV Park, about 2/3 of the way through the day one track. Since I started at home in NW Houston this would be about 180 miles before dark. I don't have any luggage yet so I went old school. Duffel bag and tie down straps.

East Texas 450... Failed 1st Attempt 5898170831_e251055998
Cargo 3 by Noah_K_T, on Flickr

East Texas 450... Failed 1st Attempt 5898738700_6dc1cb358a
Cargo 2 by Noah_K_T, on Flickr

East Texas 450... Failed 1st Attempt 5898177161_ec7f722b77
Cargo 1 by Noah_K_T, on Flickr

East Texas 450... Failed 1st Attempt 5898875432_deea1183f9
Cargo by Noah_K_T, on Flickr