Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

Rev limiter question

Go down 
+2
IAmABug
dmmcd
6 posters
AuthorMessage
dmmcd

dmmcd

Rev limiter question Empty
PostSubject: Rev limiter question   Rev limiter question EmptyTue Sep 11, 2012 9:52 am

I hit the rev limiter several times this morning, somewhat unexpectedly. I am still fairly new to this bike, but it almost feels like it is hitting the limiter too soon. The bike pulls strong and feels like it wants to keep pulling, then it starts bouncing on the limiter. It feels like it could rev another 1000 rpm or more. My prior bikes were carbed and you could really feel a drop after peak power and before the limiter kicked in. My CRF250r pulls to 13,500 rpm so maybe I am trying to get the WRx to feel the same...

It was chilly this morning, about 50 deg F. My bike has FMF Q4, stock header, FMF programmer currently set to 2-3-1-8-6-4 (still playing with that). AIS removed, and I recently did the "ultimate" air box mod. I was also playing with the C1 setting on the stock ECU a bit yesterday, it was at -11 stock and I currently have it at +1.

Are the mods and the crisp temperatures just making this bike rev a lot faster and pull all the way to the limiter? I'll have to put it in diag mode to see what the actual RPMs are doing.
Back to top Go down
IAmABug

PostSubject: Re: Rev limiter question   Rev limiter question EmptyTue Sep 11, 2012 12:12 pm

Not sure. I know with my WRR I hit the rev limiter in 1-3 pretty often. It just may short gearing. This bike likes to be shifted. :)
Back to top Go down
thumpgrinder

PostSubject: Re: Rev limiter question   Rev limiter question EmptyFri Sep 14, 2012 8:55 am