Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

suspension setup help

Go down 
+24
bad3p
D.triggs
lancek
toast
sswrx
rydnseek
Jus42
cb550fan
0007onWR
jpkrass
oldirt
mwakey
inspector
Pneukid
CopaMundial
longtallsally
denniswrr
proview
ZED
SheWolf
boogn1sh
Louisbiker
Highfive
pete in atlanta
28 posters
Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next
AuthorMessage
pete in atlanta

pete in atlanta

suspension setup help Empty
PostSubject: suspension setup help   suspension setup help EmptyWed Feb 11, 2009 10:15 pm

Howdy all-
I’ve been riding for 20 years but have never owned an offroad bike and chose
the wr after hearing the rave reviews.

I have no idea what how to set the suspension up on these and
have no idea how it should feel and am looking for some pointers. Everything
just feels mushy.

The previous owner weighed around 180 and was around 5’11”.
He said he lowered the rear by changing the position of the shock and lifted
the forks up as far as they would go in the triples.

I’m 6’2”, 250lbs with green eyes and I’m a Libra. My hobbies
are Very happy

The purpose of this bike is going to be primarily dirt but I
do want to learn to set it up for street as well. I’m planning on getting a set
of motard hoops with street tires so I can go back and forth.

Thanks for the help!

-P
Back to top Go down
Highfive

Highfive

PostSubject: Re: suspension setup help   suspension setup help EmptySat Feb 14, 2009 7:02 pm

For offroad, you're going to want it softened up a bit to make the ride less jarring on your joints & back, plus keeping the tires on the ground for traction. You're a big boy, so I'm going to recommend some settings based upon what I've dialed in....with a little more stiffness for your additional weight.