Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

Advice on first dual sport

Go down 
+16
Captain Midnight
hamish54
taoshum
X-Racer
asheville thumper
Mr.Metal
TheBIGD
wjfawb0
RT3856
njbill
ZED
dtx
spidersoup
phroenips
yellowredlight
riata
20 posters
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
riata

Advice on first dual sport Empty
PostSubject: Advice on first dual sport   Advice on first dual sport EmptyFri Jul 09, 2010 1:44 pm

I've been riding street bikes for two years. Currently ride a Multistrada 1100. In past few months have spent four days riding dirt bikes, really liked it, and would like to do some more. Really don't want to hassle with a trailer so am thinking about a dual sport. All my friends suggest I start small, so 250 makes sense. My dealer says of the 250s the wr250r is best. Was just about set to order and another friend suggested I look at ktm. KTM 450 exc seems to have amazing reviews, several mags pick it best in class. Don't think I need a 450 but it actually weighs about 30 lbs less than the wr250r. Since I'm a noob I thought having a lighter bike would be a big advantage. If I got a ktm I'd buy used (2007) because the seat is 2-1/2 in lower than the current model and about the same as the yamaha.
But nothing is ever easy. The reviews rave about the 450 exc in the dirt, but no one seems to like it on the street. People complain about the suspension and overheating in street riding. Several reviews said it's only good for very short street connections between trails. I'm guessing I'll be 50/50 dirt/street so maybe the ktm isn't a good fit for me even though it's lighter.
Any of you have any experience with the ktm and any advice for me?
Back to top Go down
yellowredlight