Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

DUMB Stand Question

Go down 
+2
Jäger
WolfpackFBNS
6 posters
AuthorMessage
WolfpackFBNS

DUMB Stand Question Empty
PostSubject: DUMB Stand Question   DUMB Stand Question EmptyThu Feb 10, 2011 10:42 pm

I'm new to the bike scene and have a question. I just got a stand for oil changes and stuff and it looks like the drain plug is blocked by the stand when it's on there. Has anyone else noticed this or am I just setting the bike on there wrong?
Back to top Go down
Jäger
Admin
Jäger

PostSubject: Re: DUMB Stand Question   DUMB Stand Question EmptyThu Feb 10, 2011 10:48 pm

nfraged wrote:
I'm new to the bike scene and have a question. I just got a stand for oil changes and stuff and it looks like the drain plug is blocked by the stand when it's on there. Has anyone else noticed this or am I just setting the bike on there wrong?
I drain the oil on the sidestand, where I can tip the bike back and forth to get as much as possible of the old oil out. About the only thing a stand helps with is refilling - if you don't use a measuring cylinder, and if your stand is on a flat area.
Back to top Go down
john92

PostSubject: Re: DUMB Stand Question   DUMB Stand Question EmptyThu Feb 10, 2011 10:51 pm

When I change the oil, I just use one of those "in the axle" moto triangle stands. It stands the bike nearly straight up because they are made for taller motocross bikes so you have to be careful. It also needs to be on pretty level ground. It works well though because it gets all the oil out well compared to just using the kickstand. I know on my HF motorcycle jack that I use for other stuff, it would be tough to get in there and change the oil with.
Back to top Go down