Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

Dirt Newbie

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
Elessar

Elessar

Dirt Newbie Empty
PostSubject: Dirt Newbie   Dirt Newbie EmptyWed Sep 21, 2011 11:17 am

Hello to everyone from Central Kentucky. I am new to dirt. Actually, I'm so new that I don't even have a dirt bike yet. I am still in the research stage of my dirt riding and have identified the WRR/X as the most likely candidate for my new bike, next year, if my artificial reality holds together and my wife continues to agree/approve of my plan.

I have been riding street for more than 30 years. I wish I had started on dirt like so many people advise. I have been riding my Vstrom in my yard and can really appreciate the gravity of that mindset based on the amount that I have learned in a very short period of time. In addition, it is amazing how much better road rider I have become from what I have learned in the grass. However, much as I try, I cannot turn back the clock, so I am stuck with the circumstances in which I find myself. This is me as a bike rider.

Hey, it's not all bad. I am married to a wonderful woman that chooses me, again, each day, for which I am eternally grateful, if still surprised regularly. We are empty nesters and I have decided that I want to venture off-road, at this point in my riding career, so I am researching and learning every day. That's me as a husband.

At 55 years old, I am not young, and 6'2" weighing 225#s, I am not little. I feel like I am in good shape because I work out almost daily, except for the weekends, when we celebrate living through another week. Two grandchildren with another schedule to be delivered some time in February should complete this picture of me as a father.