Welcome to the WRR/X Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome to the WRR/X Forum

A place to share your passion for the WR250R/X!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WR250R/X Forum

Very Impressed with this bike!!

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
ballisticexchris

ballisticexchris

Very Impressed with this bike!! Empty
PostSubject: Very Impressed with this bike!!   Very Impressed with this bike!! EmptyFri Dec 23, 2011 5:02 pm

I have been thinking of a getting a dual sport for quite some time. I have been lurking on this site for a few months now. A little background: I have been riding since about 8 years old and have had a number of bikes. I'm a "C" rider. My last few bikes were a 94 XR600R and 2000 XR650R. For street I am currently riding a 2007 Ninja 650R. For off road duty, single track and desert racing (retired in 07) I have the Swiss Army Knife of bikes: 05 KTM 300EXC.

I have thought a lot about downsizing but was worried about the power of one of these little 250 Yamis'. I just rode a newer WR250X a few minutes ago back to back with my 650 Ninja. Holy shiznit! I was very surprised at the power of this bike! I took it on the freeway, down the coast, through the hood, etc.

As long as you keep the rpm's up, this little baby has plenty of pep. I have no doubt you can run 80mph all day long in this thing. The bike I rode had nothing more than a little lower gearing, Windham/RM mid bend fat bars, a slip on FMF Q4 and smog stuff removed. No air box mods or power programmer. She had a vey slight flat spot off the bottom end. I have made a decision that the I am getting the WR250R for my next bike. I see why you guys like these bikes so much.

I already talked to my suspension guy. He has no doubt he can make the suspension more than acceptable for offroad duties. My bike will be setup for 80%/20% more for offroad.